A divorce may not be something you see yourself going through in your future but for a resident of Texas, it is necessary that you know that how long does a divorce take in Texas. It may not be you who is going through the dilemma of divorce; it can be your beloved sister, your brothers, your friend or even a colleague. To be a helping shoulder around or to help your loved ones it won’t hurt to know that how long does a divorce take in Texas.
The basic prerequisite to acquire divorce in Texas is that you must be living in Texas for the last 6 months and the county you are planning to file the divorce from should be your dwelling for at the very least 90 days. Although if you happen to be a military personnel who had to reside outside Texas to fulfill your obligations and duty, then that time period is counted as your residency period in Texas. But the laws governing how long does a divorce take in Texas are still the same.
One thing to remember is that for the state of Texas, there does not exist such a thing as legal separation. Also, there is no requirement of mutual consent of both parties for the acquirement of divorce. Texas prides itself to be a no fault state which means that one party does not have to prove the faults of the other one to get the divorce. You are not obliged to stay tied to a relationship which you know cannot work out for you. If your husband or wife refused to end the relation, you do not have to suffer. The laws of Texas allow divorce to take place with the signature of one spouse only! Then comes the period which is how long does a divorce take in Texas. The period consists of 60 days minimum starting from the day the petition was filed.
The period which is how long does a divorce take in Texas is often changed depending on the behavior of the couple. If the both people are agreeing to get a divorce and have come to some settlement then the period can get shortened from 60 days but in case there are some disagreements between the two sides then the time of how long does a divorce take in Texas is extended to an average of 90 to maximum 120 days. The time required to process legal documents and getting appointments from judges along with getting the both parties to read and sign the documents are all included in this time period. There can also be a number of phases the case might need to go through for example temporary orders, custody cases’ evaluations, trial, appeals and alternative resolution which can cause the time that how long does a divorce take in Texas to get extended to couple of weeks to couple of months. And since the state of Texas is a state of community property, therefore the division of marital assets will be made accordingly.